Tags

, , , , , , ,

I purchased one of my computers all the way back in 2007. I don’t really use it for much but it’s great for backups. One day the hard drive was giving me trouble so I knew I needed to do a reformat. Only problem was, I couldn’t find the recovery CDs for that computer for the life of me. I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do.

Because the computer was so old it wouldn’t even let me install the newer operating system like windows 7, so how in the world was I going to get my hands on a copy of the new discontinued Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005?

Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005

I Googled this problem and found a variety of options but for most of them I had to illegally download this or that and risk my computer with all sorts of maleware and Trojans or viruses.  Clearly that wasn’t going to work for me.

Turns out the answer was really simple.

For $25 Dell computer allowed me to order a backup copy of my recovery cd (click here to order your recovery cd from Dell).  Had my computer still been in warranty they would have mailed it to me for free but since my warranty expired in 2005 I had to pay for my restoration disc and since it only cost me $25 that works for me.

For that little amount of money I don’t have to worry about downloading a virus from some shady site and I get it in a few days.

So if you find yourself in need of reformatting your hard drive or like me, buying a totally new hard drive and don’t want to spend $100 to $300 to buy a new operating system from Miscroft or don’t want to risk getting a virus by downloading a cracked or hacked copy illegally, this is the perfect solution.

