Tags

, , , ,

I want to start by saying that I like the show 2 Broke Girls. In fact I found their crude humor down right funny. But there are a few flaws with the show that really bug me.

First and foremost is that fact that Caroline Channing has a degree from Wharton Business school and yet she chooses to work as a waitress in a dive.

Really? Why? At the very least should could use her degree to get an office job which would pay way more than waitress and be better working conditions.

2 Broke Girls

Next is their apartment. We all know that New York City rent is insane. There are people who tell stories about living in a studio apartment (with no bedroom at all) for more than a thousand dollars a month.

Their extremely high NYC rent is one of the reason why I assumed they are always so broke.

But in the episode from 2012 called “And The High Holidays” they mention that if they sold all the cupcakes it would be $540 which would cover their rent. How in the heck is that possible? $540 a month for a huge, albeit one bedroom apartment in New York City? Really?

That can’t be right. If their rent is only $540 a month, between the two of them how are they broke? That’s INSANE!! That’s only $270 each.  I’m sorry but no way can their rent only be $540 a month in New York City.

I checked out Zillow and found a ton of 1 bedroom apartments available in New York for anywhere from $1,000 to $3,000 but not a single one of them were as big as the one they have in 2 Broke Girls

Anyway, just wanted to rant about those things because they were annoying me. Now I’m going to go back to watching re-runs of 2 Broke Girls.

I get that TV isn’t meant to be 100% real, but at least they can make an effort to be somewhat realistic. Don’t you think?

 

